Certification Council

The Certification Council was established by the NBPTS board of Directors to guide implementation and evaluation of National Board’s Certification program. The Council evaluates, prepares and proposes policies to the Board of directors regarding the certification program, focusing on standards and assessment development and revision.

Two of the seats on the Council are held by current members of the Board of Directors. At least one-third of the seats are held by national Board Certified Teachers(NBCTs). Appointments to the Certification Council are subject to approval by the Board of Directors.

Whitney Aragaki, NBCT

High School Biology & Environmental Science Waiakea High School | Hilo, HI

Mark Ellis, NBCT

Professor of Education California State University Fullerton, CA

Lynece Michelle Galles, NBCT

Elementary Literacy Resident, West Aurora School District Montgomery, Illinois

Maria E. Hyler

Deputy Director/Senior Researcher Learning Policy Institute Washington, D.C.

Tonia Holmes-Sutton, NBCT

Council Co-Chair Public Education Foundation Las Vegas, NV

Suzanne Lane

Professor of Research Methodology School of Education, University of Pittsburgh Pittsburgh, PA

Rodrigo Rodriguez-Tovar, NBCT

Bilingual Literacy Coach Austin Independent School District Austin, TX

Saroja Warner, NBCT, Ph.D.

Director, Talent Development and Diversity WestEd Washington, DC

Phil Wilson, NBCT, Ph.D.

Elementary School Music Teacher Auburn, Alabama